NPFL-LBA names nominees for August

Four players and four coaches have been shortlisted to vie for the Player and Manager awards for the month of August in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) - League Bloggers Awards (LBA).

FC Ifeanyiubah's Rafael Everton, Ladan Bosso of El-Kanemi Warriors, Solomon Ogbeide of Sunshine Stars and Enyimba's Paul Aigbogun make up a strong field of trainers who are in the running for the manager's award for the month under review.

Aigbogun and Bosso guided their clubs, Enyimba and El-Kanemi to unbeaten runs last month and on the back of their teams' performance squeeze their way into the shortlist for managers.

It is a second successive shortlist for Everton in the manager's category and this time, he was able to lead FC Ifeanyiubah from the dugout to win in the derby against Enugu Rangers and then versus Wikki Tourists and pulled off a win on the road at Warri Wolves though he saw his side start the month of August losing two-nil at Plateau United.

Ogbeide returns among the shortlists again after making an appearance in the month of June. The Sunshine Stars gaffer watched and tutored his men to garner eight points from five matches including a 0-0 draw at Enyimba.

NPFL top scorer, Godwin Obaje of Wikki Tourists as well as Samad Kadiri of Sunshine Stars, FC Ifeanyiubah's Chijioke Alakwe and Ibrahim Ajani of Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) make up the list to compete for the player's award for August.

Obaje scored three goals, which is the most goals by any individual in the month of August. However, all of his goals were scored in home games against MFM FC and Lobi Stars which earned them four points while Alakwe scored a goal each in the derby against Rangers and at Warri Wolves in which FC Ifeanyiubah notched up all six points.

Samad got himself among the mentions to tussle for the August award after scoring in Sunshine Stars' 2-0 win over Niger Tornadoes at home and in their 2-3 loss at El-Kanemi where he was a handful for the hosts in late August.

Ajani has been one of the mainstay at 3SC this season and in August he showed why he is an important member of the Ibadan club when he netted twice. He scored a last-gasp equalizer at Ikorodu United to help 3SC earn a point and then scored once in the 4-0 bashing of Kano Pillars.

The winners for the manager and player's awards will be announced later this week.



Rafael Everton (FC Ifeanyiubah)
Ladan Bosso (El-Kanemi Warriors)
Solomon Ogbeide (Sunshine Stars)
Paul Aigbogun (Enyimba)


Godwin Obaje (Wikki Tourists)
Samad Kadiri (Sunshine Stars)
Chijioke Alakwe (FC Ifeanyiubah)

Ibrahim Ajani (3SC)
Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.