Warri Wolves emerge LBA Q2 winners

Warri based Nigeria Professional Football League side, Warri Wolves have emerged 2nd quarter winners of the Q- Awards by the League Bloggers Awards, LBA.

The Q-Awards is a new innovation by the LBA to reward top performers in each quarter of the League season.

Kano Pillars were the first to win the Q-Award this season when they finished top of the league log after Week 10.

This time, Wolves overtook Kano Pillars for the Q2 by amassing 21 points.

Wolves were by far the best team for the second quarter, which ran between Weeks 11 and 19.

The Warri club lost just two games to Lobi Stars and Wikki Tourists during the period under review to edge Kano Pillars and Kwara United on 17 points apiece.

Though Warri Wolves were awarded three points and three goals from the fallout of the abandoned tie against Akwa United by the League Management Company (LMC), the club would have still finished on 18 points in the second quarter, one ahead of Kano Pillars and Kwara United.

During their fine run up to winning the LBA Q2, the Warri club scored 18 goals in nine games, more than any other NPFL club and also put together a streak of five wins on the bounce.

They claimed the scalp of big teams like Dolphins, Kano Pillars, 3SC, Sunshine Stars and capped it up with a 2-0 win at modest outfit, ABS.

The third quarter of the Q-Award will kick off on July 3 and will run from Weeks 20 to 29 of the NPFL calendar.

The LBA has divided the current NPFL season into four quarters to help track winners for the Q-Award.

The LBA has been in the forefront of organising a reward system for the actors in the Nigerian top flight since 2009.
The Quarters & Winners

Week 1-10: Kano Pillars

Week 11-19: Warri Wolves

Week 20-29

Week 30-38

Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment