Dolphins, Enyimba take rivalry to Federation Cup

Draws for the 2010/11 Nigeria Federation Cup round of 16 has rekindled the rivalry between two Premier League sides, Enyimba and Dolphins.

Both side will fight for quarter final places in Ilorin alongside Akwa United and Gombe United.

When Dolphins won their first FA Cup in 2001, they beat Enyimba twice to win the trophy.

In 2007 when Dolphins won her 4th FA Cup, there was a quarter final clash between both sides at Ilorin that ended 0-0 with Dolphins eventually winning on penalties.

Cup holders Kaduna United FC have been drawn in Group A, alongside fellow CAF Confederation Cup aspirants Sunshine Stars of Akure. Also in this pool is reigning WAFU Club Cup champions Sharks FC of Port Harcourt, with National League side Bayelsa United also in the house. Their matches will come up at the Uyo Township Stadium.

Group B, at the spanking new Gombe Stadium, will see 2008 champions Ocean Boys of Bayelsa lock horns with Warri Wolves, UniCem Rovers of Calabar and the winner of Wednesday’s clash between Enugu Rangers and Flash Flamingoes of Ekiti.

Since there are 17 teams taking part in the group stage, one of the groups had to have five teams, and that was taken up by Group C, which will be at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu. Last year’s semi finalists Kwara United FC head that pool, with Heartland FC of Owerri, Rising Stars of Akure, Spotlite FC of Katsina and the winner of Thursday night’s clash between Dekina Dragons of Kogi and Handsworth FC of Ogun State.

The fixtures for the group phase matches will be conducted at the centres on the eve of commencement of hostilities.

The winner of Group A will clash with the runner-up of Group B (Quarter final 1) and winner of Group B will take on runner-up of Group A (Quarter final 2) in the quarter finals. The other quarter final matches will involve the winner of Group C against the runner-up of Group D (Quarter final 3) and the winner of Group D against the runner-up of Group C (Quarter final 4). These games come up on 26th July.

The semi finals have been set for Kano and Abeokuta on 28th and 29th July respectively. The winner of Quarter final 1 will take on the winner of Quarter final 3 at the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano on 28th July while the winner of Quarter final 2 takes on the winner of Quarter final 4 at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta on 29th July.

The third place and final matches will come up mid-August at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.


Kaduna United

Sharks FC

Sunshine Stars

Bayelsa United


Enugu Rangers/Flash Flamingoes

Warri Wolves

UniCem Rovers

Ocean Boys


Kwara United

Heartland FC

Rising Stars

Spotlite FC



Enyimba FC

Dolphin FC

Gombe United

Akwa United
Share on Google Plus

About xxx

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment